22 Nov 2016

New Board Appointments


For Immediate Release

Nov. 22, 2016



Creative Saskatchewan is pleased to announce that Regina lawyer, Cory Furman, has been appointed Chair of its Board of Directors.


“The new appointments bring valuable experience to the Board of Directors,” said Ken Cheveldayoff, Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport. “Both appointments have leadership experience that will continue to guide the growth and success of Creative Saskatchewan.”


Furman is a Regina lawyer specializing as a legal and business strategist on patents, trademarks, and other intellectual property issues. He has served on the Creative Saskatchewan Board since the agency’s inception, acting as Chair of the Governance Committee and Vice-Chair of the Human Resources Committee. Furman previously served on the boards of the Regina & District Chamber of Commerce and Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership.


“As a member of the Creative Saskatchewan Board of Directors since the opening of the agency, I’ve had the remarkable opportunity to work alongside many of Saskatchewan’s most skilled creative producers and entrepreneurs,” says Furman. “As Chair, I look forward to continuing to work closely with our Board and CEO as we continue to shape the strategic vision of the agency.”​


Furman replaces Ranjan Thakre, who recently resigned as Chair to pursue private business interests in the creative sector. “On behalf of the entire Board, I’d like to thank Mr. Thakre for his service to the agency, and I wish him the best in his future endeavors,” says Furman.


The vacant seat Furman leaves behind has been filled by newly appointed Board member, Dawn Woroniuk. Woroniuk is the Director of Marketing for Sakamoto Entertainment and Executive Director of the Saskatoon Zoo Foundation. Woroniuk’s 25 years in broadcasting, along with past leadership experience at SaskMusic, make her a valuable addition to the Board of Creative Saskatchewan.


Creative Saskatchewan is also pleased to announce that current Board member, Patricia Warsaba, has been reappointed as a member of the Board of Directors.


For more information on Creative Saskatchewan’s Board of Directors, please visit: www.creativesask.ca/pages/our-board





Recent Post