Creative Sask Grant Recipient Titles among Saskatchewan Book Award Winners

The winners of the 2022 Saskatchewan Book Awards were announced at the end of June – congratulations to all the talented folks in this year’s line up! The full release is available here.

Creative Saskatchewan would like to acknowledge the winners who are also recipients of our programming – well done to all!

The University of Regina Press accessed our Book Publishing Production and Marketing programs for the following titles:

University of Saskatchewan, President’s Office, Non-Fiction Award

  • Bread & Water: Essays (University of Regina Press), by dee Hobsbawn Smith

Creative Saskatchewan Publishing Award

  • University of Regina Press for publishing Cold Case North: The Search for James Brady and Absolom Halkett, by Michael Nest with Deanna Reder and Eric Bell.

SaskBooks Publishing in Education Award

  • University of Regina Press for Mācī-Anihināpēmowin / Beginning Saulteaux by L. Lynn Cote & Margaret R. Cote.

Watch the virtual award ceremony below:


About the Saskatchewan Book Awards

Saskatchewan Book Awards recognizes, celebrates and rewards the excellence of Saskatchewan authors and publishers, building greater awareness and appreciation of Saskatchewan books, and increasing reader engagement. SBA is the only provincially-focused book awards program in Saskatchewan and a principal ambassador for Saskatchewan’s diverse literary community. Its solid reputation for celebrating artistic excellence in style is recognized nationally.

SBA was founded in 1993 and celebrated its 25th Awards Ceremony in 2018. The shortlist is announced every February, followed by a series of readings to promote the authors and publishers on the shortlist. The awards are given out at the end of April at an annual Awards Ceremony.